skip to Main Content
Convocation 2017 Web

Langara Convocation 2017

Langara College’s largest ever convocation ceremonies took place this year from June 6 – 8 with two ceremonies per day. Over the course of three days, nearly 2,000 graduands were conferred credentials in a variety of academic and continuing studies programs. Each of the six ceremonies opened with traditional Musqueam drumming led by Christie Lee Charles, followed by Musqueam greetings from Gail Sparrow, Langara Elder-in-Residence.

This year, we were honoured to have six outstanding individuals provide the convocation address to Langara’s graduands. The speakers were: Dr. Christopher Gaze, Founding Artistic Director of the Bard on the Beach Shakespeare Festival; Dr. Tung Chan, Chairperson of the Board of Trustees for the Canadian Museum of Immigration at Pier 21; Dr. Martha C. Piper, 11th and 14th President of the University of British Columbia; Randy Robinson, Langara alumnus and 2016 Langara Rising Star Award recipient; Heather Straight, Langara alumna and Director of Academic Education for the Provincial Health Services Authority; and Dr. Catherine Kallin, Canada Research Chair in Quantum Materials Theory at McMaster University and recipient of Langara’s Outstanding Alumni Awards.

Each year, Langara confers emeritus awards to select individuals. The Emeritus designation is an honourary title given to Langara’s retired faculty or professional staff to recognize their outstanding contribute to teaching, service, or leadership. This year’s recipients are:

Robert Dykstra – Faculty Emeritus, Journalism
Gwyneth Lewis – Faculty Emerita, Classical Studies
Peter Prontzos – Faculty Emeritus, Political Science and Interdisciplinary Studies
Theodore Ryniak – Faculty Emeritus, Physics

Thank you to everyone who contributed during convocation. It is due to your efforts that our largest ever convocation was memorable one for our 2017 graduates.

Jan Smith
Registrar, Registrar & Enrolment Services

Back To Top