skip to Main Content
Oaa Feature Brick

2017 Outstanding Alumni Awards


We were honoured to recognize our 2017 Outstanding Alumni Award winners at a lunch reception on Wednesday, November 1, 2017. Past Outstanding Alumni Award recipients, alumni and members of the College community came together to celebrate the significant contributions made by Langara alumni in their profession, at Langara, and to society-at-large.

“This year’s alumni award recipients are remarkable,” said Dr. Lane Trotter, President and CEO, Langara College. “From the Vancouver Sun’s first female sports reporter to a renowned figurative sculptor, experienced public health nurse, and young entrepreneur and public relations professional, each, in their own way, have made a positive impact on our world. The diversity and contributions of this year’s recipients truly speaks to the unique pathways and opportunities that Langara creates for our students. We are so proud to have them as part of our Langara community.”

The 2017 Langara Outstanding Alumni Award recipients are:

Wendy Long – Journalism (1981)
First female sports reporter at The Vancouver Sun, and inductee BC Sports Hall of Fame (Media) 2016

David Robinson – Fine Arts (1985)
Renowned figurative sculptor

Letitia Rose – Nursing (2005)
Nurse with Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF)

Rising Star: Brittany Whitmore – Business Administration (2014)
Founder of Exvera Communications, and Executive Director, TEDxGastownWomen

Please take some time to learn more about our winners. To learn more about the Outstanding Alumni Awards, visit If you know any exceptional alumni who should be considered for an award or would like to volunteer for the OAA selection committee, contact Yvonne O’Hara by email

Back To Top