skip to Main Content
Academic Announcment

Announcement: Langara’s new Dean of Science

Dear Colleagues:

After an extensive search process that began early in the new year and saw over 150 applications from across North America, I am pleased to announce Ms. Gerda Krause has been appointed as the permanent Dean of the Faculty of Science at Langara College.

Gerda brings over 40 years of experience at Langara to the role as Dean of Science. Gerda began her career in the Department of Biology as an instructor, teaching over 10 courses in the Department’s curricular repertoire.  Having served as an Assistant Department Chair, Department Chair, and Division Chair, Gerda has a wealth of experience supporting her peers and colleagues within the Faculty.  A leader within the BC College system, Gerda has served on provincial committees such as the Academic Governance Council and BC Council on Articulation and Transfer’s Associate Degree Review Committee.  Gerda has provided leadership and teambuilding within the Faculty of Science and to the College in areas such as Sustainability, Strategic and Academic Planning, countless academic policy groups, and now WorkDay@Langara.  Her years as Education Council (EdCo) Chair and member of Langara’s Board of Governors will serve her, and the Faculty of Science, well as the Dean.

I would like to thank the members of the search committee that served on the review, selection, and interview panels for the position.  A huge thank you to: Shannon Eeckhout, Ryan Cawsey, Nora Franzova, Marg Heldman, Tanya Lewis, Jane Mason, Ann Syme, Susan Watt, and Ji Yong Yang for their commitment to the recruitment process.

Please help me in welcoming Gerda to her permanent role, effective June 17, 2019.

Kindest regards,

Dr. Ben Cecil
Provost & Vice-President, Academic and Students

Back To Top